president's awards for service excellence open for nominations

april 16, 2020 - 5:15am

the announcement below went out on wednesday, april 15, announcing the new set of awards for viu employees. please consider nominating a worthy colleague or team of colleagues. 

dear viu employees,

i am happy to share with you some great news, and to confirm commitment to our people plan, by announcing new presidential awards - the president’s awards for service excellence. 

these awards will recognize our non-instructional employees who demonstrate excellence in a variety of areas and who are making a positive and lasting contribution to the university and to our culture. 

the addition of the new service awards for non-instructional employees rounds out our internal awards offering so we can recognize the important contributions of employees across the institution and employee groups. this was a pledge made in our viu people plan and i am very pleased to see us fulfill this promise. 

the categories for the president’s awards for service excellence are as follows: 

  • Leadership & Innovation 
  • service excellence 
  • early career impact/emerging leader 
  • exemplary team(work) 

eligibility and the nomination process

to learn more about eligibility and the nomination process, please visit the president’s awards for service excellence webpage. we hope you will consider nominating a colleague or a team of colleagues you believe positively contributes to the success of viu and their fellow coworkers.

awards event

the winners of the president’s awards for service excellence will be announced shortly before an event we hope to have in fall 2020, which will also celebrate recipients of all our president’s and provost’s awards. 

In addition to the new service excellence Award recipients, we will also celebrate the winners of the President's Awards for Community Engagement and the President’s Awards for Advancing Access & Inclusion, which are both open to all VIU employees, as well as the Provost's Awards for Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity and the Teaching Design and Practice Awards, which are open to viu faculty. 

finally, i want to thank the service excellence awards advisory committee, chaired by debra jacklin, for their outstanding effort on these awards. the other committee members are: 

  • kristine chyplyk
  • stephanie didsbury
  • fred jacklin
  • jean maltesen
  • brenda mckay
  • jennifer merner
  • tina schultz
  • dan vandersluis
  • ali white
  • stephanie white
  • alyson winks

the nomination period for the 2020 president’s awards for service excellence will be open for two months, closing on june 15. if you have any questions, feel free to contact debra jacklin


deb saucier, phd

president and vice-chancellor



tags: announcements